Studio Practice

This week was about working in the studio and playing around with the lighting, colors, settings, etc.

My first model was Jared.

studio-1

(I didn’t even have to tell him to do anything; he just went for it)

The settings were…

-ISO: 100

-SHUTTER SPEED: 1/160 of a second

-APERTURE: f/5.6

I can’t remember the exact settings of the flash and the lights, but I think that the flash was at a higher power.

I did some slight adjustments to it, but not so much that the lighting is thrown off.

The same settings and same flash power for the next two pictures. I was a little nervous to mess with anything at the time.

studio-2

studio-3

This last one turned out to be a bit darker, because I messed up in Lightroom.

On Monday, Kylie was my model. I figured I needed to redo my pictures, because I hadn’t really moved the lights at all.

studio-kylie-1

First try: it turned out completely black, except for a sliver of light at the top.

Settings…

-ISO: 100 (I knew that this was right)

-SHUTTER SPEED: 1/1000 of a second (I figured this was okay but it was too high)

-APERTURE: f/5.0 (had no idea if this was right)

Then, Kylie pointed out that there was a card on the wall that told you what settings were best. So I adjusted accordingly and then started again.

studio-kylie-2

(There was a picture frame in the Martin Van Buren room that we liked)

I like the lighting okay, but I think it could be brighter.

I didn’t do much editing, just because I wanted to keep it pretty close to the original (for criticizing). However, I did crop it because I wasn’t paying attention and was getting some of the wall in the background.

SETTINGS:

-ISO: 100

-SHUTTER SPEED: 1/125 of a second

-APERTURE: f/9.0

Then I stuck with these settings for the rest of the shoot.

studio-kylie-3

It’s slightly brighter here. I think that I turned up the power on the flash rather than the soft box. This lit up the background more, which is what I wanted to do. I probably could have turned the soft light up or brought it closer to her face.

studio-kylie-4

Next I put an orange slide thing on the flash. You can sort of see it in the bottom right corner. It didn’t show up like I was expecting, though.

studio-kylie-5

studio-kylie-6

I can’t remember in which picture I had added a yellow slide with the orange, but it’s probably one of these two (above). I also turned the power up a bit and pointed the flash towards the background. It still didn’t show up as much as I would have liked, but it looks okay.

studio-kylie-8

I took the color things out because I didn’t want them showing up on the background anymore. I think that this picture turned out pretty good, considering that her face is lit up and the background isn’t too dark.

studio-kylie-7

I like how this one turned out  better than than last one. Her face is nice and bright, and the background is pretty bright compared to before. Personally, that’s how I like the pictures to look  but I know that not everyone is that way. I think that I moved the soft light closer to her and turned the flash power up.

studio-kylie-9

Here’s the last one. She is turned away from the soft light and I think that the flash power is slightly lower than before. This one looks good but personally I would brighten it up in Lightroom if I were using this picture for something.

Like this…

kylie-edit-1

So that’s all of the studio pictures that I have. I feel like I got good practice with studio lighting and whatnot and took some good pictures to look at and learn from.

~Abby

Leave a Reply

