Movie Poster(s)

This weekend I took some pictures to make a movie poster. I tried to get more of my friends to come but they were too cool for this, so I had one person playing the parts of three.

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 9.20.05 AM

Here is the movie that I used as a reference. I haven’t ever seen this movie, but I saw the poster and thought that it was something I could do.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.43.39 AM

First, I started with a black background. This was about 24 x 36.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.43.51 AM

Then, I added in this picture. I had already edited it and masked it out on it’s own, then used the move tool to place it in this file.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.44.12 AM

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.44.21 AM

I then proceeded to add the next two in.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.44.40 AM

Next, I added some text in. I used a dark red and white to match the original movie poster.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.44.54 AM

Then I downloaded the font “Steel Tongs” to make the credits. I downloaded the font “Whitin” from dafont.com for the rest of the text.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 8.45.00 AM

Here, I added in the rating and movie companies. I used “Miramax” and “Paramount”. I googled their logos in google images.

Albino Alligator

Here is the poster. It was hard to convince my friend that he should change his shirt, so we compromised on him taking his hat off for the top picture. I didn’t have any girls over and I didn’t want to use myself, so he put his flannel over his head like it’s hair. He didn’t take this all very seriously so a lot of the pictures seem funny.

Something that I didn’t really think about until later was that the people in the original poster are more yellow looking, whereas the lighting I used is more white. I tried to change this a little bit in photoshop, but I felt like my original lighting looked better.

The next one I tried was “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”.

Screen Shot 2015-10-29 at 8.44.56 AM

This is what I used as a guide.

day off

This is what I put together. I originally shot on a white background (just using a white sheet), but I actually used the brush tool to make it very very white. In the original poster, it looks like the background behind the actor is the same as the border. My friend has curly hair and it was sort of a nightmare to mask. I tried to take a soft brush with a low opacity around the edges after, but it still looks pretty choppy.

For this movie poster’s font I used “Abadi MT Condensed”. I didn’t have to download this one, I just looked at the fonts that Photoshop comes with and thought that this one matched the original’s font pretty well.

I googled what the rating was for the actual movie, and then googled an image of “PG-13” rating logos.

Movie posters aren’t usually my favorite, but these turned out alright.

~Abby

Leave a Reply

