EOCA/Environment

For my EOCA, I picked the theme “Environment”. Environment is defined as “the surroundings or conditions in which a person, animal, or plant lives or operates”.

depth of field
Large Depth of Field

This picture is from Honeysuckle beach. The sun was out and the clouds looked great. This picture fits under the environment theme because it is somewhere I go often and it is within my environment. I ran it through Photomatix (HDR) after importing it to the computer. I took a look at an article that had a couple large depth of field examples.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 100
  • APERTURE f/16
  • SHUTTER 1/60 sec
  • INSPIRATION {x}
slow shutter speed
Slow Shutter Speed

I realize that setting the shutter speed to 1 second or 2 seconds and then shaking the camera around is something anyone can do. But here, I tried to go past that and make a shape out of the lights. These lights hang up in my house all the time and I consider them to be a part of my environment. To make the heart shape, I just moved my camera in a heart shape. However, this made it so that the heart was upside down. I tried to move my camera in an upside-down heart shape, but it didn’t turn out as good. Then I tried turning the camera upside down and making a normal heart shape that way. My inspiration came from a picture (linked below) where the subject has lights around him that are in the shape of wings. It made me wonder how I could do something similar, using lights and shapes.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 800
  • APERTURE f/22
  • SHUTTER 2.5 sec
  • INSPIRATION {x}
rylie HDR
Portrait: Rylie

For my portrait, I used the lovely and talented Rylie. Although I get to see her every 1-3 weeks, I wouldn’t consider her to be a part of my environment. However, this picture was taken while I was at her house which is her living space. The lighting/coloring in their house is awful, so I had to do my best to fix it up in Lightroom. There is still a bit of a yellowish tinge, but it doesn’t look nearly as yellow as before. I had to set the ISO pretty high and shutter speed low, due to the lighting. Thankfully, she was very interested in my camera and held nice and still. Usually I try to stay at or above 1/60 of a sec for shutter speed if I don’t have a tripod. There might have been a birthday cake bribe involved.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 1600
  • APERTURE f/4.8
  • SHUTTER 1/20 sec

final image 3This is of a sidewalk in my neighborhood, which I would consider to be my environment. I have spent many days as a kid riding my bike and rollerblading around here. I like how bright and sunny it was when I took this picture, and I like some of the colors that were going on. I also enjoy that the snow isn’t fully covering the ground and grass, because it means spring is on its way. My inspiration came from the photo linked below. This picture isn’t anywhere nearly as eery or cool looking, but I got my idea from this picture and that’s what matters.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 100
  • APERTURE f/9
  • SHUTTER 1/200 sec
  • INSPIRATION {x}

final image 1This picture was taken from my kitchen, looking out at the setting sun and raindrops. I consider my house to be my main environment. This is an example of when I kept the shutter speed at 1/60 of a second. It might have turned out brighter before editing if I had the shutter speed lower, but I wasn’t using a tripod. I could have used one, but I wanted to have more control over the camera’s movement and whatnot. My inspiration came from something I did a couple months ago. It had been raining pretty hard outside, and the huge window in my parents room was full of raindrops. There is a streetlamp outside that was perfectly posed so that the rain drops were all lit up when I turned the lights out.

SETTINGS

  • ISO 100
  • APERTURE f/7.1
  • SHUTTER 1/60 sec

final image 2Here is another shot from around my neighborhood. This was in the afternoon, so I noticed that this fire hydrant was making a distinct shadow on the ground. I thought it would make for a nice picture of something that is within my environment, and it is something especially important to firemen in the area. This is something I encountered on my way to capture the sidewalk, so you could say that the inspiration for this picture came from the same place.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 100
  • APERTURE f/9
  • SHUTTER 1/200

final image 4

This is one of my favorites among all the pictures I took for the final. I was down at Honeysuckle beach taking pictures for the final (see the very first picture?) and noticed one guy who was taking pictures of the ducks. I had never thought of doing this, and I couldn’t believe it was just now occurring to me. So two days later, I grabbed some leftover bread from the kitchen cupboard and headed out with my camera. There were three ducks that came up to me immediately, and huddled around within a couple inches of me. It was a neat experience. I was definitely nervous, because I was worried they might get aggressive or something. It was a silly fear, and I got over it quickly.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 100
  • APERTURE f/5.6
  • SHUTTER 1/200 sec
  • INSPIRATION Guy taking pictures of ducks, using bread to lure them in.

cat 2This picture is of the family cat, Dwight. He lives inside and is a part of my environment (and all of his cat fur that gets on everything, too). I read an article on pet photography to get some tips on how to go about this. I really like that he is looking out the window, I think it adds interest because he isn’t staring straight at the camera. Another thing I like is that I was able to get his face and eyes really clear and in focus, and the background/window is out of focus. With the settings, I had to make the ISO high because it was late in the day and I wanted to use natural light. The shutter speed is lower than I would usually go, but I was able to get the picture.

SETTINGS:

  • ISO 800
  • APERTURE f/5
  • SHUTTER 1/25
  • INSPIRATION {x}

I enjoyed taking pictures for this EOCA. Choosing this theme really opened up my eyes to the things in my environment that I hadn’t noticed until now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

