Multiple Exposures

3/1

The assignment this weekend was to try “multiple exposure photography”.

In class, we went over the following guidelines:

  • Start off in a dark room (no lights at all besides external flash)
  • Steady your camera on something that won’t move, like a tripod
  • If not using a tripod, try propping something up under the lens to keep it from moving
  • ISO should be at 100 or 200, keep it low
  • Use a long exposure/shutter speed (20 or 30 seconds is best)
  • Pop the flash with each move that you make

I also googled “multiple exposure photography” pictures and used those as inspiration.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 8.55.32 AM

(Quality of this picture is low, I realize that)

In this picture, you can see that the person moved a couple times to create multiple exposures. This was something that people would do by accident way back when, but now it is a fun experiment to try.

multiple exposures-1

This is the result. I’m not very impressed with this. The picture has light all around it, so you can see everything. I’m not sure how this happened, I followed the instructions. You can kind of see that there are three different koala bears, but I’m not super pleased with the way it turned out. I had all the lights off, but all of the other distracting items are in the background (stuffed animals, coasters, lamp, pillows without their cases).

3/2

I went and read this article on double exposures. It helped a little bit. I also noticed that the pictures on that article have light all around them. So I guess it’s up to the photographer if they have light or no light on the edges. I’m going to try this again tonight.

3/4

So I went back and tried this with a better  different background.

BASIC SETTINGS:

  • ISO 100
  • APERTURE f/10
  • SHUTTER SPEED 20 seconds

multiple exposures-2This picture came out a bit dark. That’s probably because I didn’t have the flash directly on the subject but more to the side. I didn’t see more than one koala bear here. multiple exposures-3Here, I had the same problem with lighting but I at least had more than one bear.

multiple exposures-4Next, I switched to this plastic dinosaur. I’m happier with this picture than the first set of pictures. multiple exposures-6multiple exposures-5

These last two have more light in them than the koala bear pictures. I think this is because I had moved the tripod and camera, as well as the light box.

When I look at pictures of this type of photography I think it’s really neat, but I’m not too pleased with how my pictures turned out. I do like the way the dinosaurs look though. This was a good project because it made me experiment with different settings and whatnot, and it also forced me to think about what I was doing with my camera. Also, the second time around I held the transmitter in my hand rather than attaching it to my camera. This made it SO much easier to get the flash to pop and I also could look away from the flash (to avoid being blinded).

That’s all!

~Abby

 

 

Leave a Reply

